Adorable?

Someone recently mentioned to me that they knew someone who no longer used the word adorable in the context it is commonly used (e.g. that shirt is adorable) because they had looked up the definition of the word and saw that it meant “worthy of adoration.” I received this information, felt I should also be convicted, and never looked it up myself.

However, tonight, I did look it up. There seems to be a severe difference, perhaps by reason of use, between one adoring something and one calling something adorable.

Here’s the Websters:

Adore

1 : to worship or honor as a deity or as divine
2 : to regard with loving admiration and devotion <adored his wife>
3 : to be very fond of <adores pecan pie>

Adorable

1 : worthy of being adored
2 : extremely charming <an adorable child>

You may further examine other dictionaries yourself, but I found that Dictionary.com and the American Heritage Dictionary both swapped primary meaning with Websters.

Well then, I am going to stop being falsely convicted and use the word again. I’ll ask the Lord to bring it up again if it’s a problem.

One thought on “Adorable?

  1. Hmm…interesting. Thanks for looking it up. Personally, I think it’s still a bit of an excessive term to be used so often in our common vernacular. I don’t see it as interchangeable with “cute” as is so often done. I would prefer to see at least a bit of reverence put back into the word. I believe it can be a very powerful word, whether in the context of “adoration” or “extreme charm”, and would hold better emphasis if it were treated with higher esteem. If a word can be treated with esteem. Oy…the challenges of proper language.

    Great insight.

Leave a Reply

