Thankfulness

I found this high school English paper the other day and it made me laugh. Note that this is before I had the bridal paradigm. It’s dated 4/4/02.

Thankfulness. Sure, we hear the word every day, “thanks” for this and “thanks” for that, but do we ever stop to think about its true meaning? I looked it up in the dictionary and my favorite definition was, “warm friendly feelings of gratitude”. Now, if every time we said “thanks” we felt warm and friendly feelings of gratitude, don’t you think we would put a little more effort into it?

Mom told me to write an essay on what I was thankful for, but I’m going to go a bit deeper. I’m going to go into why. Why? Well, if you think about it, it all leads back to Adam and Eve, back to the beginning of time, back to the Almighty God. You know, God didn’t have to create us, he chose to. We should be thankful that God even thought of creating us! I mean, if I were him I sure wouldn’t have, we’re so selfish and prideful and yet if we saw God in his glory and majesty, we would be so ashamed of ourselves and how much time we wasted that was not spent worshiping and pleasing Him.

My Dad is sick with some unknown disease or problem of some kind, and the doctors can’t figure out what it is. He can’t do anything very well, he has slurred speech, spasms in his arms and legs, double eye site and a really bad rash (some kind of reaction to medicine). He’s been sick for 2 years now, and has been in a wheelchair for 9 months. And yet I look at him all the time and say, look at how he’s bearing it! If I was in his situation I would be wining and complaining all the time and be so depressed I would be a miserable wreck. But he’s not. And I thank God for giving me the wonderful Father that I have.

Then I look at my Mom and say, WOW!!! Look at how she’s bearing it! She’s so strong and has just stepped up to the plate and done the best she could in his place and again, if I were her I’d be a wreck, and I thank God again for my wonderful Mom. My whole family for that matter, they’re so great and talented and they all love God and are such great examples. I don’t know why God chose to put me in such a great family.

There are so many other things I have to be grateful and thankful for, I could write them down with all the paper in the world. Our house, computer, car, animals, our blessings. You may think I have a horrible life, with my Dad sick and all, but you know, I look at it and say, Thank you God for knowing I am able to have this burden and use it for Your Glory.ˇ

Leave a Reply

