Softness, Part 2

In continuation of my previous thought, I realized that this has much to do with communing with the Holy Spirit. I best heard this described in the following quote:

“There is a way of ordering our mental life on more than one level at once. On one level we may be thinking, discussing, seeing, calculating, meeting all the demands of external affairs. But deep within, behind the scenes, at a profounder level, we may also be in prayer and adoration, song and worship, and a gentle receptiveness to the divine breathings.” – Thomas Kelly

This is an attitude of spirit that I wish to implement into every moment of my life. I want to wake up praying; I want to be required to make a decision and immediately know where the Lord is leading. In his book Clowning In Rome, Henri Nouwen says, “…Our prayer can only become unceasing communion when all our thoughts…can be thought in the presence of the One who dwells in us and surrounds us.” I want to live there. My desire is to fellowship with the Lord day and night and to make it natural to live at this “profounder level.”

2 thoughts on “Softness, Part 2

  1. I love this….. to constantly be pursuing inward communion with the One who desires this more than we do,,,,im so excited you are my new friend.

  2. That Nouwen quote is profound. I agree. That’s my deepest desire. thanks for the challenge.

Leave a Reply

