Reflections on Water

Call me a dork for getting Biblical revelation from Lord of the Rings, but I watched The Two Towers last night and you know the scene where the Ents flood Saruman’s castle? I was watching that scene and thinking about how water is usually portrayed as good, even in secular society.

So that led me to do a little study on how water is referenced in the Bible…

About a year ago, Amber did a thematic Worship with the Word on water (affectionately known as the “water set”). The verse we always started with was Rev. 22:1: “And he showed me a pure river of water of life, clear as crystal, proceeding from the throne of God and of the Lamb.” I never could figure out if that water was the Holy Spirit or what.

Looking through verses in Scripture on water, I found that water is never referred to as a bad thing. It is always quenching dry ground, flooding to purify, etc. This rings true with Eph. 5:26 and the “washing of the water of the Word.” We subconsciously think of water as that which purifies.

I probably shouldn’t even post this as it has no conclusion. I apologize for the aimlessness of my blog…I am working on that.

One thought on “Reflections on Water

Leave a Reply

