Something Called Hypocrisy

Something that I utterly detest is hypocrisy; especially among Christians.

I am by no means a saint. In fact, as I am sure anyone who “lives” in a prayer room can tell you, the more time I spend with God, the more I realize that I know SO LITTLE. But something that I have lived, breathed, supported – and now whole-heartedly avoid – is hypocrisy.

Hypocrisy: a feigning to be what one is not or to believe what one does not; especially : the false assumption of an appearance of virtue or religion. I find it interesting that these three words are so similar: hype, hyperbole, and hypocrisy. All three surround the idea of something which appears to be what it is not.

Jesus called the scribes and the pharisees hypocrites repeatedly (Matt. 23), yet they were the ones who knew the most about Jesus. They knew the Torah the best, they kept the law to the literal dot and tittle. I have lived this kind of Christianity…Oh yes, when I used to worship in church, I sure looked like I was the full-engaged super-Christian. In reality, I stood on “Pebble Beach,” raised my hands, closed my eyes…and proceeded to wonder for 20 minutes what everyone around me was thinking of my outfit, Christianese posture, etc.

I don’t want to know about Jesus; I want to know Jesus. I would rather have a weak, broken, real relationship with Jesus and admit that I don’t have it all together than have the pretense to live something on the outside that is not an internal truth.

As Misty says, “I don’t want a name that I’m alive, if I’m dead on the inside.”

Jesus, come and make me real.

Leave a Reply

