A Near God

What if there was a way for you to feel compassion in your heart towards something and the God of heaven heard it like a prayer? What if we, like the Spirit, make intercession “with groanings which cannot be uttered” (Rom. 8:26)? If it is true that God hears the cry of my heart which hasn’t even been formed into a prayer of thought, then He must be a God who is close to me, just waiting for that movement of my heart.

I am a firm believer in a near God. I believe that Spirit of God is closer to me than my skin and that I have no need to yell and cry out to that God who is so near to me. I can usually identify if someone believes in a God who is “near at hand” (Jer. 23:23) by the way they pray. If they pray loudly, “preach-pray”, or pray with their eyes glazed over as if they are speaking to the air, then my heart goes out for them to know a God of nearness: a God who not only loves to hear their voice, but loves to answer the silent cry of their heart.

Leave a Reply

