The Danger of Remaining Blind – Part 1

I recently heard two college-aged Christian girls catch up with each other’s lives. I couldn’t help but overhear their conversation. They discussed a number of Christian principles, religious theologies, and mission trips as they sipped lattes from little ceramic cups.

There was nothing wrong with these two girls. Two years ago, I was one of them: sitting at a coffee shop catching up with a friend and discussing the great ideas I had about God. What I didn’t know was just that: how much I didn’t know.

Someone who is born blind only knows the colorless world they have experienced. They don’t know what they’re missing – a sunset or a beautiful painting – because they’ve never experienced it before. They don’t know what they’re missing because they have no grid for what it is like to see. However, they may be able to describe a beautiful picture for you – even though they’ve never seen it themselves.

No, I’m not talking Christian-ese “we’re not about a religion we’re about a relationship,” what I’m saying is that even the Christians are missing it. I can colorfully describe many aspects of God that I haven’t experienced. Many Christians live their entire lives this way. They talk about Jesus as if they know Him because they know about Him: they know His friends, they know His biography, but they don’t know Him.

2 thoughts on “The Danger of Remaining Blind – Part 1

Leave a Reply

