The Danger of Remaining Blind – Part 2

In the previous post, I drew the analogy of a blind person being able to describe in vivid detail things that they have never experienced and correlated it to many Christians. I lived a proverbial blind Christianity before the Lord opened my eyes. When I was that girl in the coffee shop – living out the epitome of what I thought a Christian was supposed to be – I had no idea how much of God I was missing.

I was overwhelmed when the Lord began to give me a new perspective: I was so small and knew so little of Him and the more time I spent with Him, the larger and more mysterious He became.

When Jesus spoke to the church of the Laodiceans, He chastened them not because they were doing something terribly wrong, but because they didn’t know the state of their own hearts:

“Because you say, ‘I am rich, have become wealthy and have need of nothing’ – and do not know that you are wretched, miserable, poor, blind, and naked…” Rev. 3:17a

There are a couple questions I ask myself when I feel that I may be putting spiritual sunglasses on:

  1. Am I content with the knowledge I have about God, or am I living on the fuel of daily revelation?
  2. Am I changing daily, despising my weak areas and asking the Lord to transform me into His image?

The first question I ask myself because I don’t want to make God distant. I want to always remember that He is intricately involved in every detail of my life. The second I ask because I find that I get into trouble in my life when I feel like I am doing pretty well (when I don’t see any areas I really need to work on). I used to keep a quote on my wall which said, “As soon as you think you have conquered sin, you are about to fall.” I find that my heart is healthiest when I grieve my weakness and lean on Him to conquer it.

3 thoughts on “The Danger of Remaining Blind – Part 2

  1. Pingback: The Danger of Remaining Blind « Lucy Nom de Plume

Leave a Reply

