A Lesson Learned at Denio’s

Denio\'s

In the heart of Old Roseville, there’s a renown farmer’s market and swap meet called Denio’s. It’s basically the biggest garage sale you’ve ever seen. I like to go to the farmer’s market on the weekend because it’s simply the best in the county.

This past weekend, I was met with an unusual situation. I’m not the paranoid type, but I had parked in a particularly sketchy part of the market and the first people I see are two elderly men walking amidst the cars in my row. One of them only looked a bit suspicious, wearing a large grin and an over-sized t-shirt. The other work a gray top hat and had a long beard carefully dyed half blue and half neon-green.

The short version of the story goes like this: I was convinced enough that these characters were vandalizing cars in the lot that I called the cops (for the first time in my life). An hour later, it was determined that they were just being suspicious around their parties 3 cars and I sheepishly apologized to them as the police officer laughed with me and assured me that there is theft at Denio’s.

My funny story has a point. As I pondered what happened later that day, I thought once again how true it is that man looks at the outward appearance but the Lord looks at the heart. I want to be quick to discern but slow to judge. Even if that person never knows about it, I want to be wise in my thoughts; I want to see as God sees.

I think next time I see a green-and-blue bearded man in top hat, I’ll ask the Lord what to do before I ask the Roseville Police Department.

Leave a Reply

