So America Chose Obama

What will be our response? Will we despair and say that God doesn’t answer prayer, or that x group of people didn’t pray enough? Will we be offended and shake our fist at God, claiming He didn’t come through for us?

I was impressed with IHOP-KC’s response within minutes of Obama’s victory. They interrupted the last half of their Worship with the Word set to inform everyone of his win…and immediately called a rapid fire to pray for him. Person after person told the Lord, “Thank you.” There was no hesitance in this response, and I know from living at IHOP that they weren’t prepped to say that either. No, those people have some knowledge of God, and their first response was to acknowledge that even if they didn’t know why He would want this man in power, they were going to trust Him.

Why does God want Obama in power? Maybe it’s reaping consequences or His righteous judgment — however you like to label it. But I don’t think so. I don’t know much, and even though I grew up in a political family with two parents who graduated with Poly Sci majors and I used to breathe talk radio, I have let my politics slide (on purpose) for the past 3 years.

I think God’s giving us two things: an invitation and a sign. The invitation is for Christians to realize that they need to be praying. I want to scream Jeremiah at them:

“O my soul! My soul! I am pained in my very heart! My heart makes a noise in me; I cannot hold my peace, because you have heard, O my soul, the sound of the trumpet, the alarm of war.” Jeremiah 4:19

The second is to realize that God is orchestrating world events for Jesus’ second coming. It’s really going to happen, and soon. That’s going to seem far fetched to most of you, but I’ve been studying the end-times for almost 3 years and I can tell you this much: Matthew 24:3-9 is not far away.

2 thoughts on “So America Chose Obama

  1. I like the cartoon commentary! That is so true! It all depends on what side of the coin your looking at. When Bush won, they said “Hah! he didn’t have a majority!” but when Obama wins, they say he does.

    Yes, I agree. I can’t remember the verse, but I saw a verse in revelations that talks about the ‘Young Lion’ (US) watching Gog and Magog attack Isreal and not be able to do anything because they had become weak. I think this is the start of that. We are in the end times.

    But we should still pray for our president. Who knows how this could change. Maybe have a Muslim president might draw more people to a relationship with Jesus Christ. That would be cool. Just as the cartoon says, 51% or 52% – depending on the view. We say, how could we have the most radical, extremist in the Whitehouse and God is saying How can I draw this People back to Me?

    Well, anyway, just an opinion.

    Dave Barber
    http://finepoetry.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

