Her Name is Duchess

There’s a woman who works at a local store where I go to run errands on occasion. Her name is Duchess and I have never seen someone in such a monotonous job with so much joy. I don’t think Duchess is a Christian, though with the way her eyes sparkle when she looks into mine, I wouldn’t be surprised.

Duchess is convicting to me every time I see her because no matter how busy the store is or a customer has a problem, she keeps her cheerful demeanor and takes everything in stride. I don’t know if I have any Christian friends working a secular job who have so much genuine joy while they work. And what’s more, I know Duchess well enough to have seen that she is consistently like this — even when she’s going through a tough time.

Paul admonished the Colossians to do everything in word and deed in the name of the Lord. How can I get offended in the name of the Lord? I can’t! How differently would I be viewed by the world if I really lived these words:

“And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him…And whatever you do, do it heartily, as to the Lord and not to men, knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance; for you serve the Lord Christ.” Col. 3:17,23-24

Lately, I have been actively pursuing a gracious heart. It’s something that I lack and I desire to show others that God is a gracious God who looks past their weakness. I am realizing more and more how much I need to focus on myself and my problems instead of others’. It’s so easy to take the above verses and say, “So and so should read this, they are so ______.” Instead, I want to see the areas where I am not showing Christ and change them.

I want to live out character and joy instead of just being selfish when I don’t feel like responding well; I want to be like Duchess.

2 thoughts on “Her Name is Duchess

  1. Hello Alyssa,
    I just discovered you when I was doing a Sohlnet search. Thanks for being so faithful. God is indeed smiling as He sees your devotion. Thanks for your many years of standing up for life.

  2. Alyssa:

    Perhaps Duchess is one of those folks who actually know the Lord in their hearts without the religious fru-fru.
    We get so caught up in our religious notions and jargon that sometimes we forget that God has on occasion sovereignly reached out to individuals.
    If you could accurately describe the Lord, without jargon, to one of these folks they might say “Yeah, that’s the guy I know, isn’t he great!”

    There are a few.

    Nathan

Leave a Reply

